new shower valve problem

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by richard johnson, Sep 20, 2017.

Tags:
  1. richard johnson

richard johnson New Member

Hi, ok so I've fitted a thermostatic shower valve (concealed), but was unable to test anything prior to tiling. Just turned on the water supply (megaflow system), and I have issues! The valve has a temp control and a control to divert flow to fixed head or hand set. If I crank the flow to handset I get cold water from the handset. If I try to add hot, it stops all together. If I turn the knob to fixed head, I get absolutely nothing, not even a drip. I plumbd it in myself and i'm 99% sure I connected it correct. Fortunately for me both inputs and both outputs are accessible from the loft so i'm hoping unless the valve is faulty I won't have to start smashing my way in through the tiles. Any help on this issue would be appreciated. I'm a tiler by trade but on this occasion I ended up doing the plumbing

2. If a thermo shower shuts off like that, it suggests it's working properly - ie it's safeguarding you against scalds.

Usually the reason is that one of the supplies - usually the cold - has been interrupted.

What make and model is it?

And what supplies is it receiving - is it 'balanced' from similar sources like a CWS tank or combi, or is it not - like a mains cold and cylinder hot?

3. richard johnson