New wiring for cooker, hob and hood

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by mkkbb, Aug 6, 2006.

1. mkkbb

mkkbb New Member

Can anyone give me some advice please...

I'm rewiring my kitchen and have a new oven, hob and hood to wire in. Can I do the following (if so how)?

1. Have the oven and hob connected to the same switch above the worktop - i.e. 1 switch to control both appliances?

2. Have the switch for the hob either above the wall cabinets?

3. More preferable, can I have all three appliances controlled by the same 1 switch?

I'm new to wiring but am keen to learn and any help would be very appreciated. Also would it be possible to have answers in easy English please, as some of the messages I've read on here have confused me :)

2. artysparky

artysparky New Member

what type of hob?
    gas/electric?

3. mkkbb

mkkbb New Member

Tanks for your reply. It is a gas hob.

4. Mr. Handyandy

Mr. Handyandy Screwfix Select

I'm new to wiring, I'm rewiring my kitchen.

??????????????????????

Mr. HandyAndy - really

5. mkkbb

mkkbb New Member

lol, what I mean is I'm new to wiring kitchen appliances. I've already done the rest of the house, it's just the cooker part that's confusing me.

Basically I just want to connect the oven, hob and hood, but I'd like them to all connect to the same switch, if it is safe and possible. Can I do this, and where would I make the three connect, at the switch or from the CCU?

6. Mr. Handyandy

Don't think you are looking at ONE switch.

If you want more advice(or some advice) you would be better giving more info like ratings of the appliances etc, positions, availability of mcb ways etc.

Not that you'll get any advice from me. I'm just a bystander :)

Mr. HandyAndy - really

7. mkkbb

mkkbb New Member

So you're saying I'd need to have a seperate switch for the hood, one for the hob and one for the oven?

8. Mr. Handyandy

No. I'm saying you are not looking at ONE switch.