Novice here!

Discussion in 'Painters' Talk' started by WBHK, Feb 5, 2017.

1. WBHK

WBHK New Member

I am completely new to painting and decorating! I wonder could any one advise on if I'm doing this right. I have recently moved into my childhood home and have started to redecorate. Every wall in the house has wallpaper which I'm going to take down to just paint the walls. I started on a back bedroom, removed the 2 layers of wallpaper and lining. The walls are in ok condition just the paint that was under the wallpaper was flaky and a few holes which I filled in with polyfilla. I have scraped as much as I could of the paint off, sanded all the walls and did a sugar scrub to hopefully achieve a good base for the new paint. I was worried about the new paint flaking off and not looking the best when it was finished so I had a look online for anything to help. I found the zinsser peel stop primer and went off to buy it but they didn't have it in stock so after explaining to the man in the shop he told me about the zinsser bullseye 123. I have given the room one coat of this so far and will give the walls 2 coats of the dulux total cover Matt white after that then finish with the final colour paint. My questions are:
    Do I actually need to use the zinsser 123 going forward with the rest of the walls in the house or would the dulux total cover have done the job just as well?
    Do I need to wait for the zinsser to cure before I paint with the dulux or can I go straight ahead and paint once its dry?

Sorry for the long post! Any help/advice would be great

2. As long as the remaining paint is fairly well adhered to the wall, then in most cases matt emulsion paint can be rolled straight on - no sealer/primer needed. So you may wish to try that on others walls first before resorting to Zinsser stuff.

Having said that, and traces of wallpaper paste or loose paint flakes then Zin products are good. Except I don't think 123 was the best choice.