Old Unit brackets just screwed into plasterboard?

Discussion in 'Kitchen Fitters' Talk' started by wakeywakey, May 24, 2015.

1. wakeywakey

wakeywakey Member

My old units were attached by bracket simply screwed into the plaster board.
    Is this usual?

My new units happen to need bracket fixing in between the stud beam but it doesn't feel right just screwing brackets into plaster.

Saying that they held for 10 years and I can't pull them off!

2. chippie244

chippie244 Super Member

Don't do it

3. Big Dunk

Big Dunk Active Member

4. Mr. Handyandy

Mr. Handyandy Screwfix Select

Are you sure there wasn't wood behind the plasterboard?

Mr. HandyAndy - Really

5. malkie129

malkie129 Screwfix Select

Or a dry lined wall? :eek:

6. wakeywakey

wakeywakey Member

Can you tell I'm new to this.
    I've googled it and it looks like dry lined as there is a gap about 4 inches between the plasterboard and the board behind it
    There are some vertical and horizontal beams throughout the wall.
    Does this sound like dry lined?

Does that make a difference about the way the old units were attached?

7. Big Dunk

Big Dunk Active Member

No it sounds like a stud wall, dry lined would usually have a gap of around 10-15mm
    Like Handyandy has already said there maybe timbers behind the plasterboard at wall unit height to allow fixing of the wall units if not use the brackets I have linked to earlier to hang your units they allow you to fix to the studs and you can then hang your units wherever you like.

8. wakeywakey

wakeywakey Member

Checked for timbers at height needed. None there.
    You say these brackets fit to the stud.
    Isn't the stud the same as the timbers behind the board?

9. Big Dunk

Big Dunk Active Member

Yes the studs are the timbers behind the board, go out and buy the 2m long hanging rail I've linked to and screw it into the studs and hang your wall units on it. Job done!!