Order of first fix work, plumber, electrician, UFH & ASHP installer, fire sprinkler installer,...

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by AliceC, May 24, 2016.

1. AliceC

AliceC New Member

Hi

Im a novice self builder and am trying to get the order for the first fix trades in the right sequence;
    the house is timber framed, so the UFH will be using metal plates installed under the first floor deck. I am thinking we want the metal plates as close to the surface of the first floor deck as possible for max heat transfer? then does the insulation go in? The plasterers are doing the insulation screeding and plastering...or does the insulation go in after the plumbing, electrics and sprinkler system put in? the UFH pipes will be covered in screed on the ground floor. but in the kitchen some electric will run in the floor to an island, does the electric supply run under or over the installed UFH pipes? . So what order do I ask people to come in to do their work?
    I have a separate plumber, electrician, installer for the UFH and ASHP, and fire sprinkler system (because of no firefighter access route!) Any suggestions would be welcome!

2. philthespark

philthespark Active Member

If it was me,I'd try to get all the trades to a sit down together,that way they can go over the drawings and talk it through.
    It's not uncommon for one trade not to fully understand the requirements of another trade and that's when problems can occur.
    Something as inocuous as a wrongly placed pipe or cable can cause major headaches,most tradesmen are happy to discuss what the plan is with other trades,it's much easier to sort a problem when it's on paper rather than when wires and pipes are going in.

KIAB likes this.
  3. sospan

sospan Screwfix Select

Obvioulsy you want to get the trades in to do one "hit" of first fix and have to do multiple visits

Do you have all the locations for sockets, switches and plumbing marked out on the walls ?