Outbuilding Conversion - wet floor wall joint

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by Goldenshilling, Jul 8, 2015.

1. Goldenshilling

Goldenshilling New Member

Looking for a bit of help with my outbuilding conversion project. I've got a 3m x 2.5m block building that I'm converting to an office. I've stripped the place out and added a new window and was about to begin my work on insulating the floor and walls until I noticed my floor wall joint is leaking water in. It's only recently happened after the heavy rain but I obviously want it sorted before doing any work on the floor.

The wall abuts next doors outbuilding and the water is coming through the joint along the whole length of the wall.

I was planning on laying a DPM along the floor and part way up the walls but assuming the water ingress will need sorting first? Any ideas what product I could use to sort the problem? I've been looking at fillet seals but not sure if they are the right option?

I'm a bit of a novice at this so any help would be much appreciated!

2. I think a photo(s) would help us to understand the exact issue, especially what's happening outside that wall.

As I'm sure you suspect, the best solution to to stop the water coming through from the outside, rather than isolating it once it's come through.

If access to the outside is really impossible, then a possible solution is to 'simply' raise the level of the inside concrete floor to above that of the outside.

I think.

3. Phil the Paver

Phil the Paver Screwfix Select

When you say a abuts next door, I assume there is a gap but its to small to get in to, if this is the case, does this gap continue up to an opening at roof level allowing rain to fall between the walls, if so finding a way to cover the gap may be all that's needed, this will obviously be beneficial to you neighbour as well, so you shouldn't have any problem convincing them to allow you to do it.

4. Goldenshilling