Outhouse Supply Debate

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by staffsspark, Apr 30, 2015.

1. staffsspark

staffsspark New Member

Hi. I'm harry, new here. I'm an electrician and at work today was having a debate with another spark about how he is going to wire his shed. He was telling me he is going to go off rcd protected side of CU (non split board) with a 32a mcb, to a 2 way board in shed. But the incomer on the shed would be a 40a rcd. His argument was that the 40a rcd in shed didn't matter as it can only ever have 32a max. My argument was it is just better practise to use the same size form of disconnection at both cu and shed. Altho like he said it can never use more than 32a from cu. I also said there needs to be some discrimination between the rcds as to prevent both cu and shed tripping at the same time. But if he was to use a 40a rcd in shed would this still trip with a 32a mcb that is rcd protected feeding it?
    Opinions please

2. seneca

seneca Screwfix Select

The 40 amps of the rcd is it's total load capacity, nothing to do with tripping. An rcd doesn't respond to overload or short circuits, it only trips on earth faults, ie, n-e or l-e.

3. staffsspark

staffsspark New Member

Very good point I completely missed!! With regards to the CU and shed rcd size. Is it better practise to stay the same ie 32a CU and 32a shed like I argued ?

4. Coloumb

Coloumb Screwfix Select

It's pointless using the same breaker size at the start and the end of the run. Your meant to provide at least half the protection size each time there is a reduction in protection (ie cable size), so 32a at the CU, then 16a/6a at the shed CU. It's to help with discrimation. There may be a reg some where.

5. chippie244

chippie244 Super Member

I would keep quiet about being a sparks :rolleyes::rolleyes:

sinewave and seneca like this.
  6. Coloumb

Coloumb Screwfix Select