Painting a wall for the first time

Discussion in 'Painters' Talk' started by Soup890, Mar 24, 2014.

1. Soup890

Soup890 New Member

Hi,

Can someone please give me a step by step guide on how to paint my hallway and kitchen.

What I need to know:
    1.Preparation
    2.Paint type (not colour)
    3.How to get rid of peeling paint?

Any think else I should know.

Please I'm very new to it (DIY) so explain it to me like you are explaining to a school student.

Thank you very much

2. Soup, I suspect the reason there hasn't been a rush to answer this thread is because, well, because it's - y'know - such a big ask.

And so basic.

You'd be better off looking for existing info out there - check Youtube for instance.

Bottom line - you need to start by removing all the peeling paint, 'cos that's - oh, I can't be bothered... :(

Sorry, Soup - it's just too dull. Life's too short. It's worse than watching paint dry. Which you are miles away from doing...

3. chippie244

chippie244 Super Member

1. You need to do lots of this, it's the biggest part of the job.
    2. Look at Dulux Endurance for the hallway and Dulux Kitchen for, you've guessed it, the kitchen. Other paints are available.
    3. Paint scraper.

4. Mr. Handyandy

Mr. Handyandy Screwfix Select

Hi,

Can someone please give me a step by step guide on how to paint my hallway and kitchen.

What I need to know:
    1.Preparation ............
    Hire a decorator
    2.Paint type (not colour) ............Hire a decorator
    3.How to get rid of peeling paint? ............Hire a decorator

Any think else I should know. ............Hire a decorator

Please I'm very new to it (DIY) so explain it to me like you are explaining to a school student.

............Hire a decorator

Thank you very much

....That's ok

Mr. HandyAndy - Really

5. BuilderMCR

BuilderMCR Active Member

LMFAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

6. joinerjohn1

joinerjohn1 Screwfix Select