Part P - Moving kitchen sockets

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by will322, Feb 21, 2017.

1. will322

will322 New Member

Hi guys,

Just after a bit of advice on moving a few sockets in the kitchen. When planning our kitchen, the planner mentioned that our current sockets above the counter are illegal and too close to the hob (1/2 inch at present). Seeing as the plasterboard is being cut out and replaced for new tiles to go on, i thought we might as well sort it.

I'm no electrician but have done minor electrical work in the past and i'm more than capable of moving some sockets 6 inches or so safely across and putting in some capping to make it double safe. I just wondered if I was legally allowed to do it? I have no qualifications to speak of but the part p regs seem to suggest it's non-notifiable? Reading through some admittedly old forum posts though, suggest otherwise.

If anyone could enlighten me that'd be great. We're on a pretty tight budget so i'd rather sort it myself but the last thing i want is to cause myself more problems down the line!

Cheers

(The sockets in question)

2. seneca

seneca Screwfix Select

You are correct, this work is not notifiable. Only new circuits are now notifiable in kitchens. (or of course consumer unit changes if it happens to be in a kitchen!)

will322 likes this.
  3. BiancoTheGiraffe

BiancoTheGiraffe Screwfix Select

You don't need to do anything.

Not up to current regs, but it's not a new installation so it doesn't matter.

You couldn't install them new like that, but you don't have to move existing sockets

4. Coloumb

Coloumb Screwfix Select

It's not notifiable but it still should conform to 7671.

5. spinlondon

spinlondon Screwfix Select

My understanding, is that both new circuits and CU changes are notifiable, also any work within a zone of a location containing a bath, shower, swimming pool, etc.
    There is no minimum distance that sockets have to be from a hob in the Regulations, or in law.