Peeling paint on old plaster

Discussion in 'Painters' Talk' started by Bm05, Feb 8, 2015.

1. Bm05

Bm05 New Member

Hi,

I am new to decorating and have never had any problems with what little painting I've done so far so apologies if this is a simple problem to solve that I should really know about. I've had a quick read at a few similar questions but they refer to new plaster.

Yesterday I painted my bedroom ceiling. It was plastered 12 years ago and the paint has been fine all these years apart from hairline plasterboard movement cracks. I bought an elastic paint to stop these cracks happening again. After I'd finished I noticed some big bubbles, then cracking appear. The paint is now peeling off very easily in big chunks bringing the old pain with it and exposing the plaster. This has happened to about a third of the ceiling in patches. The rest is stuck like **** to a blanket :mad: And taking hours at a time to scrap off.

So my first question is...do i keep scraping and sanding until it's all off or is there a product that will remove it easily?
    And more importantly what do I do to stop this happening again? (My friends are screaming PVA glue at me - if this is the answer, how much do I water it down by?)

Thank you for reading.

Attached Files:

2. BLUEJACKET

BLUEJACKET Active Member

Looks like the very first coat of paint was put on without being diluted (Mist coat) as it hasn't stuck to the plaster at all in the picture or it could be that this area hadn't been rub down slighting before painting to provide a key (PVA no), you've gone over this and as it's wet has caused it to separate from the plaster.

B J

FatHands and Bm05 like this.
  3. Agree with Blue jacket completely and keep pva well away from it just strip and sand the affected area then mist coat and then paint as normal

Bm05 likes this.
  4. Jitender

Jitender Screwfix Select