plaster before tiling?

Discussion in 'Tilers' Talk' started by cl0391, Feb 20, 2015.

1. cl0391

cl0391 New Member

Well, i am total a noob here, do apology if i am asking a silly question here.
    I had a builder doing my bath room, but he went back to his country last week, and left me an unfinished bathroom.....
    He used these green/lime colour plaster boards in bathroom, which is water proofing... this is fine, but the bad side is he did not fit the board properly. the wall is not flat/straight. i used a piece of timber to measure, at the worst spot i can see gap almost 1 cm.
    I was thinking use bonding to repair the wall, so i can have a nice surface for tiling. but after i have done research on the form, i see the bonding is very absorbent of water. so the question comes.... if i want to tile a nice wall (doesn't have to be pro, but at least it need to be good quality) what should i do at this point to prepare for tiling?

p.s. i am living in ground floor, using small tiles, approx 20 pieces for 1 sqm.

2. Ghost-1

Ghost-1 Active Member

The green boards are water resistant plasterboard, not waterproof. If the builder has made a mess of it, why not remove it and put it straight/level.

Bonding plaster is NOT suitable to tile onto, it would need to be skimmed over with multibond.

If it is in a shower, think about tanking it as well.

FatHands likes this.
  3. Assuming that you want to keep costs down - using 'foreign' labour, are we? :) - and also assuming that the builder used screws and not nails to fasten the boards, then a compromise to what Ghost suggests; unscrew the existing boards, pack out thoroughly (don't leave any gaps that could allow movement (this will likely require screwing straight additional battens to the existing bent studs...) and refit the existing.

Good enough for general bathroom tiles areas as long as you use a good bed of quality tile adhesive and ideally cement-based grout.