Plastering work!

Discussion in 'Other Trades Talk' started by g4rfr81, Apr 4, 2016.

1. g4rfr81

g4rfr81 Member

Right im after some pro advice on plaster work! I stripped the walls in my living room and realised the old plaster work under the paper was in a bit of a bad way, lots of cracks all over, sounds hollow in most places, stripped the skirting boards off and you can literally see big areas moving as if its no longer connected to the brick work! I go a pro (well i hope) in to give me a quote to sort the walls out, i was under the impression the walls needed stripped all over back to brick and start from fresh but all thats happened so far is they have filled some areas where bare brick work is and pva coated everything else ready to skim tomorrow, is this the right way to sort the walls or is it gonna last like 5 mins and start cracking again? I work in the motor trade and things are done differently i just dont know if they are doing the job properly or not! Anyones input would be greatly received!

2. Mr. Handyandy

Mr. Handyandy Screwfix Select

Not in the trade, but I'm pretty sure it is standard. As long as all the loose/blown plaster is gone and patched, then over-skimmed, sounds like a good job!

Mr. HandyAndy - Really

g4rfr81 likes this.
  3. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

Difficult say 100%, but if it was bad as you say, I would have strip the lot off, then got a quote for replastering walls, not for making good by patching & skimming walls.

g4rfr81 likes this.
  4. g4rfr81

g4rfr81 Member

Are you in the plastering bussiness? Just not sure if i trust what his doing, how much roughly should it cost to get walls stripped and redone? Its a 3 x 6 meter room, i'm having the plastic surrounds ripped off the 2 windows and plastered instead! And a fireplace opening i enlarged re done so its all smooth! I got the impression he would be removing more of the old plaster as theres still hollow sounding patches on it!

5. KIAB

KIAB Super Member