Polished concrete floors

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by tesla76, Aug 26, 2015.

1. tesla76

tesla76 New Member

Hi,

I'm having a new build house created and am considering polished concrete floors, I am a tradesman so not complete novice. I was just wondering if anyone has any experience / knowledge of this type of floor. Does anyone recommend any companies that have a good reputation for this flooring ? any horror stories etc...

It's quite expensive but some people have said it's possible to polish the floors yourself as the builder will be laying concrete anyway has the sub-floor ?

Any info would be appreciated :)

2. Ryluer

Ryluer Well-Known Member

Usually no need to power float them as tiles, carpet, wood etc covers it.

Unless you want your floors finished to FM2 “Special” tolerance warehouse finish?

3. Phil the Paver

Phil the Paver Screwfix Select

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: I think they want the concrete as the finished surface, very highly polished.

4. Phil the Paver

Either this.

Hamiltons-Gallery-001_big.jpg

Or exposed aggregate

Polished-Concrete-Floor-Derbshire-1024x764.jpg

5. Ryluer

Ryluer Well-Known Member

That second one is terraza. Very expensive.
    Dunno what the first one is. Possibly coloured concrete. I slap through concrete every day.
    Mostly for cow sheds and such like. Not sure I'd want to be let loose in some ones gaffe with the punter looking over my shoulder. That's where a navvy comes in handy. LoL.
    Though I'm on a biomass project at the moment where a farmer has diversified.
    I've seen terraza used in milking parlours.

Last edited: Aug 26, 2015
  6. Phil the Paver

They are both polished concrete, nothing else, just concrete and a lot of skill.

7. Ryluer

Ryluer Well-Known Member

Looks like terrazzo to me.
    It doesn't take skill to stand at the end of a floor sander.

8. Mr. Handyandy

Mr. Handyandy Screwfix Select

How long does that finish last? Just asking.

Mr. HandyAndy - Really