Qualification needed to fit an unvented cyliner

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by honestlad, May 8, 2006.

1. honestlad

honestlad New Member

I'm new to this site so any advice would be much appreciated!

I am a self-builder and within the next month will be installing my central heating and hot water system. I have opted for an unvented cylinder. As I am just a capable amateur (and as it is required by law) I will be getting a Corgi registered fitter to install and commission the boiler, but I intend to fit the rest of the system myself. However, I understand that an unvented cylinder may only be fitted by a suitably qualified person. I have two questions:

a) Do you think most suitably qualified plumbers would be happy to install the cylinder and let the customer (me) fit the pipes and everything else.
    b) Alternatively, do you know whether I could go on a course myself to become qualified (I have no plumbing qualifications at present)? This would have the advantage of allowing me to carry out the annual service too. If was only for a day and cost a couple of hundred quid it would be worth it, but I can't find any such courses on the web.

Many thanks.

2. M.I.G.

M.I.G. New Member

> a) Do you think most suitably qualified plumbers
    would be happy to install the cylinder and let the
    customer (me) fit the pipes and everything else.

fitting the pipework is the installation!

> b) Alternatively, do you know whether I could go on a
    course myself to become qualified (I have no plumbing
    qualifications at present)? This would have the
    advantage of allowing me to carry out the annual
    service too. If was only for a day and cost a couple
    of hundred quid it would be worth it, but I can't
    find any such courses on the web.

Many thanks.

there aint any such 'day courses', get a competent/qualified person to do this work.

3. honestlad

honestlad New Member