Radiator Valve Replacement

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by OccassionalDIY, Nov 3, 2015.

1. OccassionalDIY

OccassionalDIY New Member

Hi All,

I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to plumbing so some advice would be greatly appreciated.

I've just moved into a new property and noticed that all the radiators have been fitted with lockshields at both ends, which i have been lead to believe used to be the norm before building regs changed. I would leave these in situ however the valves have seized up and i believe they need altering. So i was going to replace one side with some TRV's.

Here lies the problem having bought the TRV's and trying to replace i notice that the fit of the TRV on the pipe is very loose. Have i bought the wrong size TRV ? I thought that it was a standard size for all.

The TRV's that i tried to fit are 15mm.

2. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

You might have 10mm Microbore' piping.

Got a photo.

3. OccassionalDIY

That could explain it. As when i removed the old lock shield there was ptfe tape around the olive. I'm guessing to give a tight seal on an oversized compression gland

I'll upload a photo later this evening

4. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

[​IMG]

Attached Files:

5. You will need to get a 10mm TVR Screwfix have some, the PTFE was used to make the water tight seal. Remove the old PTFE and apply it again with new PTFE then tighten up. 10mm is not that uncommon. Just buy one to try an see if it has a good fit you can all ways return it.

6. OccassionalDIY

Being a novice i've never heard of microbore before is this likely to be an issue ?

7. ThatDudeNick

ThatDudeNick Member

No issue just simply a smaller size pipe that's it. All my radiators are microbore.

8. Dave does Gas

Dave does Gas Screwfix Select