Raditor pipes & skirting

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by Jonny5, Aug 16, 2006.

1. Jonny5

Jonny5 New Member

My radiator pipes are really close to the wall. I am going to fit some new skirting and I want to cut a semi circlular channel about 2 cm across and about 0.5cm deep into the skirting for the pipes to run through.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to how I can do this neatly?

Thanks,
    Jon

2. Shedmen

Shedmen New Member

You could consider routing the skirting or also consider boxing in the pipes completely?

Shedmen

3. Jonny5

Jonny5 New Member

Thanks for the reply - I had considered using a router. I presume the £20 Direct power one would do the job?

Can you tell me what king of bit i would need to create the channel I need?

As you can guess, i have never used a router before - plenty of practice on some off cuts will be required!

4. !!

!! Active Member

http://www.rutlands.co.uk/cgi-bin/psProdDet.cgi/TR208||@cCove@b|0|user|1,0,0,1|3|

Something like this one, I've done this a few times I'd suggest that you put the skirting board joins behind the pipes

5. big all

big all Screwfix Select

My radiator pipes are really close to the wall. I am
    going to fit some new skirting and I want to cut a
    semi circlular channel about 2 cm across and about
    0.5cm deep into the skirting for the pipes to run
    through.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to how I can do
    this neatly?

Thanks,
    Jon

assuming its 15mm pipe if your only going in 5mm your channel will be shallow and wont need to be so wide
    if its 22mm it would be faily flat
    i would suggest by far the easiest way to do it is to machine cut the scirting centraly at the back off where the pipe is going to be and router each half seperatly
    you wont realy see the join if you line them up properly and iff your painting it wont matter
    what you need is 1mm clearence all round so your cutter needs to be the radius of pipe plus 1 mm so 8.5 mm radius