Reparing lime plaster walls

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by Cornish Crofter, Nov 7, 2005.

1. Cornish Crofter

Cornish Crofter Active Member

After removing lining paper from some lime plaster walls, I find they need some repair.

No I know you can use one coat or patch using render and multi finish, but I'd like to consider using a similar material to the lime plaster.

Problem is I've never done that before.

After removing the loose plaster, what do I need and how do I use it? The areas to do will be a few inches wide to 3 feet wide.

I want materials that I don't have to spend too much time preparing. I think the local builders merchants can sell me some of the special sand I'll need.

Thanks in advance

CC

2. Cornish Crofter

Oh well

I'll just use onecoat then ;)

No ideas then??

CC

3. jakeofalltrades

jakeofalltrades New Member

I'd like to consider using a similar material to the lime plaster.<

What similar material would that be?
    Why not use lime mortar/plaster?

4. Cornish Crofter

Thanks for that suggestion - I used Renovating Plaster with the high impact finish - a system marketed by Tarmac and recommended for lime plaster walls.

The base, renovating plaster mixes up like cake mix! It's really great to work with. The skim is strange though, as dj said on another thread it stiffens up i left unworked, so be prepaired.

The hardest thing I found was to judge when to polish it off. I was advised to suck and see, so I did.

I would be happy to use lime plaster another time, though I didn't - and still don't know what to get, and how to mix and apply it.

CC

5. dj.

dj. New Member

cc, when i first saw this thread i thought you were talking about lime mortar which is why i didn't comment, i don't do lime mortar, never have. i presume you have done the job now, but if you need any advice about "tilcon limelite" then please just shout.

by the way, sid sends his love :)

6. Cornish Crofter