Replacement Kitchen

Discussion in 'Kitchen Fitters' Talk' started by Denneva, Aug 6, 2015.

1. Denneva

Denneva New Member

Looking at replacing our kitchen, its a old Magnet one we think about 15 years old. Have more or less got it down to either Howdens or Wicks, anyone got any views on either of this. Will strip out old kitchen before, and as I'm a retired plumber i want to do that myself, electrics more or less stay same with addition of one more socket. Not interested in B& Q, and been told Magnet expensive. Any help appreciated.

2. Before you buy your kitchen from one of the sheds, have a look at DIY kitchens .com
    I am about to instal a new kitchen when we move house in a couple of weeks time ( hopefully) and they came highly recommended.
    All of their units are made to order and they do 900 high wall cabinets which we like, and like you , our last kitchen came from magnets.
    The other reason we are choosing this company is that they sell handless kitchens in painted MDF as well as the trendier gloss finish.
    I'm not a fan of the gloss effect and I don't think it will stand the test of time like the painted one ( which can be repainted if it gets a bit tired looking).

Take a look, you might be surprised
    Mike

3. Denneva

Denneva New Member

Someone else mentioned these people, I'll give them a look, I'm not 100% on buying without seeing , but I see they do samples, which helps. Thanks for letting me know

4. CGN

CGN Screwfix Select

Have you got a design done yet? That would be the starting point as you can then compare prices properly.

Howdens is trade only and there will also be a big difference in price between Magnet and Magnet trade.

Regardless, a kitchen is only as good as the fitting and even a 'cheapo' can look good/last if fitted properly.

5. malkie129

malkie129 Screwfix Select

We had a Magnet one, fitted by their fitters. Happy with quality & price, but employed my own tiler. Everyone to their own, I suppose.

6. KIAB