Shower mixer taps stuck- advice, please!

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Bizzielizzie, May 25, 2016.

1. Bizzielizzie

Bizzielizzie New Member

Hi,

My first post here- I'm not trades/DIYer.

I had Swirl Elevate bath/shower mixer taps fitted 8 months ago. They were fine, but have suddenly stuck fast and it's impossible to switch to shower function.

Screwfix have offered a replacement, but I was wondering if there is a DIY solution I could attempt first? The plumber cost more than the taps in the first place, so it seems like money down the drain (ouch!)

Any advice appreciated, although I'm a DIY novice/dunce.

Thanks in advance!

2. Dave does Gas

Dave does Gas Screwfix Select

You need to go back to screwfix with the plumbers invoice and demand they pay it, Its their product that is at fault therby the expense of replacement should be theirs.
    If they refuse demand to speak to the manager and insist its within your consumer rights etc.

3. Phil the Paver

Phil the Paver Screwfix Select

Is it?????? The right to a replacement yes, but it has never covered the cost of Labour to replace, the same goes with car parts, the amount of times I've bought a brand new part that hasn't worked and had to swallow the time and Labour involved in fitting them.:mad::mad:

4. Fatsteve

Fatsteve Member

Yes good luck with screwfix reimbursing costs ... Only laugh behind your back, I normally buy another unit same item and take the parts I need and return failed bits attached to new item saves time and effort removing the whole unit. Under the mixer depending on model is an allen key head this undoes the fitting. Do same trick with faulty taps...I then laugh back in their smug faces. Their lame excuse for not paying labour costs are supplier cannot be sure part was installed correctly, guess us dumb **** plumbers are incompetent

5. Bizzielizzie

Bizzielizzie New Member

Thanks for your replies, guys.