Shower niche in brick wall?

Discussion in 'Tilers' Talk' started by Irfan, May 20, 2008.

1. Irfan

Irfan New Member

Hi chaps,

Although not ideal I would like to create a shower recess in a brick/concrete block wall. I have never done this before hence seeking advice/experience of others.

I have checked the depth of the wall with pilot hole and it is 9 1/2 inches I think the wall is 2 x 4 inch concrete blocks. I am thinking of creating a recess by cutting out 80cm length, 27cm height and 11cm depth. This will be from the centre of the wall. The recess will be tiled with mosaic.

Question is what could I do to reinforce the recess since taking out so much will weaken the wall??

Thanks in advance!!!

2. HOTDOG ø

HOTDOG ø Active Member

Uh?

Explain?

Whatt are you trying to do?

3. Irfan

Irfan New Member

HotDog, sorry for not being very clear :( here goes again…

I am effectively thinking of creating a big hole into a 9' thick wall. I need around 4 inches deep to create a hole deep enough to be useful It will be tiled all around i.e. all sides etc... And then used as an area for storing shower gel shampoo etc..

I am concerned that due to the length & height of the hole which I am considering to be around 68inches length and 9 inches in height. That will be a big chunk out of a wall and as such I am wondering what I can do to reinforce etc..?

Hopefully made it a little clearer this time

Thanks! :)

4. HOTDOG ø

HOTDOG ø Active Member

Making a hole in a shower wall is generally NOT a good idea, you are creating somewhere where water will collect and eventually cause damage, better to create a shelf that drains.

5. HOTDOG ø

HOTDOG ø Active Member

but if you must then you would need to put a lintel in the wall to support the weight.

6. jasonb

jasonb New Member

Is there enough space to box out the wall 4" and form your recess in this? If not as Hotdog says you will need to insert a lintel to support the brick/block above.