Small extension in progress, worried about brickwork - poor?! Please help!

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by Lkw82, Oct 9, 2016.

1. Lkw82

Lkw82 Member

We are having a small extension done on existing foundations as they are see enough (it was a conservatory) but I am very worried that the brickwork seems quite poor in places. I have no experience and so would like some professional opinions. One part of the wall has been rebuilt already as it was visibly wonky and the second attempt was a good 2 inches higher on one side than the first time it was built! Obviously this has raised alarm bells with us at the quality of the work in general. Upon checking the walls we are concerned about large mortar joints, cracks in mortar, etc. I am not sure if the pointing has been finished or not (worryingly!) but bricklayer has moved on to other work so I'm guessing it has. Please can you let me know what you think?

edit - cannot seem to upload photos as it is coming up with an error - file too large?!

2. Lkw82

Lkw82 Member

3. Lkw82

Lkw82 Member

can anyone help? are we just being fussy or is there a problem?

4. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

Got carried away with adding photo's.:)

Pretty poor brickwork, joints not uniform width,courses don't look level,mortar residue on brickwork, did he tie that block wall in with wall starter? see photo below.
    Electric cable is another bad point, badly routed, a lone brick sat there waiting to attack someone passing,probably could spot more if at home & on main pc & not out & on a tiddly notebook.

upload_2016-10-9_21-14-3.jpeg

Last edited: Oct 9, 2016
    Lkw82 likes this.
  5. Lkw82

Lkw82 Member

Thank you.

And a stupid question but what is the consequence of poor brickwork like this? Could it have major consequences like structural/damp issues or is it simply a case of it looks poor?

6. KIAB

KIAB Super Member