sockets in lighting circuit ?

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by jordansparky1, Apr 9, 2015.

1. jordansparky1

jordansparky1 New Member

Hi there I'm a qualified electrician to 17th edition, I have a job on just now fitting lights and 2 13a sockets in a loft. Wiring for lights is there however no cable or outlet with 12 metres of the loft without causing havoc( not being lazy) I know there is probably no way round this but is there anyway I can put the 2 sockets on the lighting circuit without wiring into the existing ring ? Don't think it can be done just looking for an answer and if not I will wire into existing ring where possible.

eric the fish likes this.
  2. jordansparky1

jordansparky1 New Member

Anybody any suggestions ?

3. Big Dunk

Big Dunk Active Member

Qualified electrician????

4. jordansparky1

jordansparky1 New Member

Yeah qualified ;) I know it's not best practice I'm not suggesting this is what I'm going to do but is there a way around this without taking it back to the consumer unit. I know more than likely that is what I will have to do or split the main ring and incorporate the 2 additional sockets :p

5. retiredsparks

retiredsparks Super Member

What are 2 13a sockets needed for ?
    RS

6. jordansparky1

jordansparky1 New Member

A computer at one side and printer at the other side thanks

7. retiredsparks

retiredsparks Super Member

Assume 350 watts for pc and 50 watts for printer.
    5A 3 pins outlets and 3 pin plugtops.......
    Up to you what you do.....lol
    RS

FatHands likes this.
  8. jordansparky1

jordansparky1 New Member

I'm thinking betterr to wire into the ring mains but looking for an alternative, what do you suggest

9. seneca

seneca Screwfix Select