Soil pipe/waste pipe leak

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Kyle Brunskill, Oct 20, 2014.

1. Kyle Brunskill

Kyle Brunskill New Member

Hi

I have recently purchased a house a found leak on my internal soil pipe where the the waste pipe from my kitchen sink hits the soil pipe boss under my kitchen counter. It appears the previous occupants have connected a 40mm pipe directly into the boss but have not sealed it.

My question really is, what method is the best to seal it? the waste pipe itself is easily removed from the soil pipe and the closest boss that matches mine that I could find is as follows:

http://www.builderdepot.co.uk/polypipe-boss-pipe-double-socket-40mm-solvent-110mm-grey.html

Any help or advice anyone could help would be very useful as I am a complete novice.

2. Kyle Brunskill

Hi,

There is no rubber gasket, but the boss has a ridge where it meets the waste pipe, I was thinking it may have held an o ring at some point but I'm not sure.

Attached is a picture where they tried to deal it with silcone and a rubber washer.

3. That is not a very good picture.

In fact, that is not a picture... :p

How much gap is there betwixt the pipe and the inside of the boss sleeve? 5mm-ish? More?

Just get one of them rubber doo-dahs and stick it on yer shaft and you'll be happy. And you'll stop dripping.

Ease it on - if necessary - with a smear of washing-up liquid.

4. Kyle Brunskill

Yeah I've just noticed it didn't upload. I'll try the gasket. Thanks very much for your help!

5. DIYDave.

DIYDave. Screwfix Select

Could it be a solvent weld boss and hence no strap or rubber bung ?

Poorly fitted and now leaking or incompatible 40mm pipe used with solvent weld boss ?

6. If Kyle buys a gasket and tries to squeeze it in to a 0.1mm gap, I think he'll come back.

And might even answer my "How much gap is there betwixt the pipe and the inside of the boss sleeve? 5mm-ish? More?" question... :)

7. Kyle Brunskill