The best way to fit a kitchen sink waste.

Discussion in 'Kitchen Fitters' Talk' started by 2520years, May 17, 2008.

1. 2520years

2520years New Member

I'm a fairly-recently qualified plumber. A friend has asked me to fit a kitchen sink unit for him, and I want to help. However, we didn't cover kitchen sinks on my course.

My question is:
    When fitting the waste into the sink, is it best to use silicone/plumber's putty/something else to seal it?

I've found anything works on baths, but wash-hand basins are a pain. I've not fitted a sink yet.

Thanks in advance for your help!

2. HOTDOG ø

HOTDOG ø Active Member

[I'm a fairly-recently qualified plumber./b]

Pull the other one!

FOLLOW THE PACKET INSTRUCTIONS!

3. (*Â¥*)

(*Â¥*) New Member

If the fitting is that new-fangled 'plastic' stuff, then solder it.

4. Captain Leaky

Captain Leaky New Member

5. 2520years

2520years New Member

You're all bonkers. And why would I pretend to be a fairly-recently qualified plumber? It's a simple question, so a simple answer would've been more helpful.

I haven't got the instructions yet, but I've noticed the instructions for bath and basin wastes don't mention which sealant to use, so I've assumed these instructions will be similar.

I just wondered which was best rather than trusting to trial and error.

6. enjay

enjay New Member

Come on lads don't take the mickey, 2025 obviously did the same 'Become a qualified Plumber in just 3 days' course that I did. They missed out the half hour normally allocated to sinks & wastes etc' and gave us intensive training on neurosurgery as a bonus. Most informative it was too. Doing my first operation on Monday,anyone out there done the half day anesthatist course??

7. Captain Leaky

Captain Leaky New Member

Yes, but unfortunately my first patient died :(

8. 2520years

2520years New Member

You lot are on the wrong forum.
    Try this one...
    http://forums.chortle.co.uk/