Toilet Distance from vent

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Renovate77, Apr 22, 2016.

1. Renovate77

Renovate77 New Member

Hi

I am new to this and have tried to check building regulations and just got more confused.

I have a main vented stack going from the hole in the floor all the way up and out of my roof. I want to put two toilets one into each our master suites one toilet is 3 meters from the vented stack and the other continues a further 3 meters so in total the max distance of horizontal pipe on the stack branch is 6 meters. I understand I need a fall inline with the regs but I cannot gain a clear message as to if I need an additional vent. If I do can I run it up to the loft and horizontally back to the main stack and tee it in?

As I said new to this so any advice would be appreciated.

Last edited: Apr 22, 2016
  2. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

3. Renovate77

Renovate77 New Member

Thanks for your reply, that will make my life easier. :)

Do you know if there is a regulation distance or what is it that would dictate the need for an additional vent?

I understand what the vent will do and what it helps prevent however I am keen to understand when you should install one.

4. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

But,the maximum distance is 3mtrs from a stack for a single toile I think, it's all to do with solids & gradients, but I just can't remember the figures.:(

Look at WC manifold system,but I can't find the regs about it.

5. Renovate77

Renovate77 New Member

So looking at the regs and if I understand it correctly, page 9 diagram 3 it shows a WC with min 18mm fall total 6M away on a unvented pipe. I have also looked at page 10 section 1.20 and it tells me to check table 2 and diagram 3. Having checked these I can now see that I do not need an additional vent.

Please correct me if I have read or understood this incorrectly.

6. Jitender

Jitender Screwfix Select

I think the 6M limit is only for a single WC?

7. KIAB

KIAB Super Member