TOP NEWEL POST CUT OUT

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by HENRYFONDA, Jan 14, 2015.

1. HENRYFONDA

HENRYFONDA New Member

I am near the end of completing a loft conversion myself. I am not a pro but pretty clued up as have done a few self builds. Not all the work by myself.
    Basically my problem is: The stairs were measured by the stair company and have been delivered.
    The staircase is a double winder. One at top and one at bottom.
    I put the trimmers exactly to the measurement on their drawing.
    Problem is the newel post at the top sits level with the front of the trimmer. If I notch it out to fit over the trimmer I would have to move the stairs away from the wall. Also, the final riser sits just a few mm back within the newel post, so I could only notch out a few mm if anything.

Hopefully all of the above makes sense.
    Do you think they have measure wrong or can the newel be screwed and fixed without notching a bit out. Doesn't sound like it would be stable enough this way??
    Any advice appreciated.
    p.s. the stair company got the length measurement wrong and had to send me two new extra thick end stringers to make up the gap.

2. Hi 'Henry'.

I dunno, but hopefully someone on here will.

Perhaps more info is needed (ie - your description doesn't make enough sense to me, but then I'm not a joiner.)

Any chance of photos or a sketch or summat.

Bottom line, tho' - if it can't be fitted without too much butchering, and the fault was the supplier's, then you know what needs to be done...

3. joiner1959

joiner1959 Active Member

Sorry but having a little difficulty with your description of the problems. A few pics may help.

4. Phil the Paver

Phil the Paver Screwfix Select

Yes pics please, they speak a thousand words.

5. HENRYFONDA

HENRYFONDA New Member