Trade Windows Supplier

Discussion in 'Other Trades Talk' started by threeof, Nov 21, 2015.

1. threeof

threeof New Member

Hi,

I am a self builder who is looking for a window company to supply me CE uPVC marked windows, we install and self certify.

I have found various online companies - all offering online ordering (apart from more complex items like Bays) - but it appears they are just agents for much larger operations - these 'face' companies that I have dealt with so far seem to lack the level of technical expertise, which is reflected in their dealings with us - its very frustrating, quite often the sales people are also the warehouse people - so their time is stretched, email questions are left unanswered or answered incorrectly - not a very good way to run a business.

We have so far managed to find Masco, who make the Duraflex profile, and also own Griffin windows who fabricate, but again Masco seem to want to push us off to '7 Day Windows' - what they claim as a 'depot', - are there any profile manufacturers with a fabrication arm, that has economies of scale, an have a 'competent and dedicated' sales force out there willing to deal with a builder/property developer such as ourselves.

Thanks

2. DNR Plumbing

DNR Plumbing Active Member

Your location would be helpful, we have a family Buisness near myself who fabricate all their own Windows and doors and can supply only if needed.
    Why use uPVC and not composite??
    Composite Windows have a much better u value and last longer and the environmental folk love them :)

3. threeof

threeof New Member

Thanks

N London is where we are.

Composite, wood with a metal cover ?
    Lots of folks have been suggesting triple glazed from the EU - Poland being suggested.

I just need double glazed, uPVC will do fine - just want a supplier who fabricates - is not an agent - and knows what they are doing.

4. Phil the Paver

Phil the Paver Screwfix Select

5. DNR Plumbing

DNR Plumbing Active Member