Van advice needed?

Discussion in 'Car and Van Talk' started by irwaller, Aug 30, 2016.

1. irwaller

irwaller New Member

Im after a bit of advice about what can is best out there. I'm a plumbing and heating engineer. After a middle sized van and want something relatively new (2/3years old) I'm interested in the ford transit custom and the Renault traffic/Vauxhall Vivaro. Which is the best to go for? Or are there any others? Thanks

2. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

3. Jord86

Jord86 Screwfix Select

Get a transit mate, I really regret not getting one, I opted for the vivaro instead, bloody temperamental useless terrible French design, the trafic, vivaro and Nissan primastar are all exactly the same, poor. And there's a design fault on the models up to 2013(I think) whereby when it rains the seals to stop the water getting under the bonnet are defective and the injectors get seized up, if you type in 'vivaro injector problems' on a search engine the internet is awash with stories. The vw transporters and Mercedes Vito are also top vans to consider, but also command top dollar sadly. Best all rounder for me would be the transit.

irwaller likes this.
  4. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

Can't disagree with that list of three by Jord.

Transit
    Mercedes Vito
    VW Transporter

irwaller likes this.
  5. darren jackson

darren jackson Active Member

VW transporter bit more expensive to buy but hold there money bullet proof great vans,
    parts and servicing bit on the dear side, 1 have had 4 of them i love them
    my 3rd one blew its turbo at 5 years old when it had done 380,000 miles.
    That took the engine out, but it still sold for a fair price people love them,
    or could you get away with a long wheel base VW caddy

irwaller likes this.
  6. sospan

sospan Screwfix Select

Had a transit connect for a few years, loads of niggly problems including a door falling off! Not as good as its big brother

irwaller likes this.
  7. irwaller

irwaller New Member