Water leaks so long after filling / testing on soldered end feed tees!

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Happyplumber, Mar 28, 2017.

1. Happyplumber

Happyplumber New Member

Hi There,

I have been a heating engineer for 25 years and never had an insurance claim until this month when I have been called out to two separate water leaks at two separate addresses. The cause on both occasions has been a connection between the Wednesbury pipe and a 22mm end feed tee (manufactured by CB) on a cold mains pipe.

I have noticed that the tee fittings in particular are extremely tight to install and require a tap to insert the pipe sufficiently. Once they are fluxed it is impossible to rotate the fitting. I have checked all my fittings with a vernier guage and discarded about 5% due to inconsistencies. The pipe is also inaccurate but by no means to an extent that should cause a problem. The issue seems to be exclusively with 22mm tees!

On both occasions the joint failed on a cold mains section of pipe. The pipe held water perfectly for 8 hours in the first incident and an incredible 72 hours in the second before the fitting failed with a fine spray of water running down the pipe onto the ceiling below.

My feeling is that the fitting was so tight that it prevented an adequate depth of solder. Having dismantled the fitting the solder had run all the way around!

It is making me paranoid as although everything is leak free after leaving site the element of doubt in my mind is that a joint could fail up to 1 week later... The claim on the first failure is currently £4000 as the customer was not aware of it for 12 hours and although it never damaged the ceiling it leaked on the carpet and furniture. The second will require redecoration of the ceiling only as they noticed it quickly and rang me... Help!

Has anyone experienced:

A. A water leak so long after the system is filled and tested especially on a cold mains supply circa 4 bar in pressure?