What does a "Shower Check Valve" do?

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Wish I Hadnt Started!, Dec 22, 2003.

1. I'm in the process of plumbing my shower in and after clicking on a link by mistake on here, I've come across a "check valve".
    On the Screwix description for this item it says "Must be used if it is possible for the shower head to be lowered into bath water or shower tray water. "
    In my case I think it would be possible to do the above.
    Is this something I should be adding to my system?

Some details:
    I'm a DIY "plumber".
    I have a combi boiler.
    The shower is of the mixer variety and is positioned over the bath.

TIA

2. mike h

mike h New Member

I'm no expert so I'll allow the experts to respond, but I think you'll find the water supply regs require this to prevent the bath water (dirty!) from siphoning back into the clean water supply.

So It's as well to fit it.

MH

3. screwfox

screwfox New Member

The alternative is to use the "ring" that most new showers are supplied with, this fits on the riser rail, and the hose goes up through it. This prevents the shower head from getting low enough to be under water (and incidentaly stops the cack-handed wife dropping the shower head into the bath and damaging it!)

4. Thats handy, 'cos I have fitted that "ring". Perhaps I should double check to see if the shower head can still reach the bath.
    I think I'll fit one of those valves anyway - makes sense.
    I suppose the logic behind it is sound, although I'm not sure how the dirty water could get back up the shower hose.
    Thanks for the replies

5. RH

RH New Member

Dirty water gets up the hose and into your system like this:

Mains pressure drops - maybe a burst main (it is the weather for it) ;)
    Shower head is sitting in the bath with the tap open.
    You or someone else opens a tap lower in the house, or even in another house.
    The bathwater then syphons back into mains water supply.