White pine varnish advice

Discussion in 'Painters' Talk' started by Anak, Jan 11, 2015.

1. Anak

Anak New Member

Hi,

I am looking to varnish some white pine that is used for skirting, door-frames (and probably doors).
    Ideally I am looking for something that gives a finish similar to this:
    [​IMG]

I want a slight darkening and also something that brings out the grain as white pine looks a bit bland. I am probably looking for a gloss finish as well, but maybe this is best achieved by using a yacht varnish over the top of any stain when it is done.

I naively bought Ronseal antique pine after looking at this.
    http://www.ronseal.co.uk/products/interior-varnish
    But on my test piece of wood the result was closer to this:
    [​IMG]

Any advice welcome.

2. Anak, I'm not an expert on this at all, but I suspect that no actual 'stain' was used on that table top at all, just clear varnish/oil/lacquer applied to what was a 'richer-grained' softwood in the first place.

That table top could be 'pitch-pine' or similar timber, like wot was used for floorboards years ago - and why old floors come up better with sanding and sealing than new softwood T&G boards do.

The problem with using a coloured varnish like the Ronseal is that it 'coats' the wood with a colour, and effectively 'blocks' the grain rather than enhancing it - the wood tends to look more 'even' afterwards.

I'm not sure what the best solution is, but I suspect it'll involve a clear top coat. As a basic rule, 'oil-based' (polyurethane) varnish (the stuff that needs white spirits for cleaning) will give a darker, yellower, more 'mellow' finish to plain wood, whereas water-based varnishes ('quick-dry' stuff) will leave it less affected.

But hopefully some paint pros will come on to advise.

3. Jitender

Jitender Screwfix Select

Look at using oil maybe danish oil, with oil - if there are scratches it can be re oiled again.

4. Nice idea. Easy to apply - in that you can't really go wrong!