Would anyone use this service?

Discussion in 'Just Talk' started by Thebizexpert, Jun 24, 2017.

1. Thebizexpert

Thebizexpert New Member

Hi All,

Am not trying to spam or sell anything, just trying to gauge whether there would be interest from those in the trades around my business idea.

Basically, I am a marketing consultant (yes I know it sounds a bit wanky), and am setting up a consultancy that basically offers really cheap and easy ways for small businesses to extend their reach to a wider audience.

Do people need it, or is everyone always rushed off of their feet? Would someone be prepared to pay up to £500 to get their website ranking higher in Google, or to maybe have social media plan in place?

For the sake of giving an idea of what I mean - see a blog which I have posted, which is made to help those with their own business get ahead on Google, but is anyone interest in this type of thing?

Please do be honest in your feedback, and apologies if this is not the place to post!

2. P J Thompson

P J Thompson Active Member

Hi, if my email inbox and cold calls to my phone are anything to go by, there are a lot of people doing it. A lot.
    A lot of them don't seem to have a clue though.
    I've had conversations like:
    Seo guy: I can get you onto page one of Google
    Me: I already am.
    Seo guy: not here you're not.
    Me: where are you?
    Seo guy: Manchester.
    Me: to be honest I've no interest in quoting for a fence repair that's 300 miles away. Good day to you sir.

I imagine if you live in a densely populated area with lots of competition, seo guys may help but here you rank pretty high in search results as soon as you get your site indexed.

3. Thebizexpert

Thebizexpert New Member

Thanks PJ! Yes, I guess there a lot of SEO agencies around, and I imagine the cold calls are ridiculous if they really don't understand the localised nature of your work too.

Am based in London, so judging by your last sentence there may be hope!