Toothbrush/shaver socket

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Possom, Aug 28, 2017.

1. JP.

JP. Screwfix Select

Yes that is exactly what I mean Mr P

2. Possom

Possom Member

So in this scenario, there is the potential for someone to receive an electrical shock?

3. Bob Rathbone

Bob Rathbone Screwfix Select

I agree and I know many that have but I am sure that the manufacturers only intend these for intermittent use. The symbol does show a shaver and toothbrush but it does not make any mention of re chargeable devices.

4. JP.

JP. Screwfix Select

The transformer is classed as safety isolating Mr P

5. Possom

Possom Member

Unfortunately I'm not an electrician so I'm not au fait with relevant terminology; can I just seek clarification on the point below? It's interesting to get an idea how safe these are before I arrange for an electrician to install one.

The transformer is classed as safety isolating.

However, if the energised charger base fell into a basin full of water the rcd would not trip.

So in the scenario of the energised toothbrush charging base falling into a basin of water, is there the potential for electrical shock, that is, since the rcd would not trip?

6. JP.

JP. Screwfix Select

What you have to remember is that the secondary side of the transformer has no reference to earth whatsoever Mr P

7. Possom

Possom Member

So there is the potential for electrical shock, just not fatal?

8. Wayners

Wayners Screwfix Select

For tooth brush charger.. Just put a standard plug on the cable or if you want to keep original just buy an adapter so you can plug anywhere in any socket.

9. Dr Bodgit

Dr Bodgit Super Member

Not sure...200ma maximum current output and the voltage is "floating" in relation to earth. Not sure what would happen if one dropped into a sink load of water with your hands in it though.

10. CraigMcK

CraigMcK Screwfix Select