No hot water to bath taps in main bathroom unless ensuite tap is turned on at same time :-/

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by JoBlount, Nov 1, 2017.

1. JoBlount

JoBlount New Member

Hi. I apologise for the long post, I have no plumbing knowledge and want to check that the information the bathroom fitter has given is correct. We have recently had our main bathroom refitted with the addition of a stand alone shower, powered by a new twin positive head pump (gravity fed system with cold water tanks in loft and hot water cyclinder in airing cupboard on same level as bathroom). Bath tap was changed from an old mixer to a freestanding thermostatic mixer and sink already had a mixer tap which was replaced with similar. The old bathroom and separate ensuite shower were already serviced by an existing 2 bar pump, so with the addition of the extra shower a second pump was added just for the new bathroom shower alone. Prior to the refit the hot water in the bathroom was too hot coming through the tap but did flow with good pressure from the pump. After the refit all was ok for a month but now we have no hot water in the main bathroom when we turn the bath or sink hot tap on, unless we run to the other end of the hall and turn on the hot tap in the ensuite at the same time. Cold is fine. Called the fitter back today and he said we need to buy a more powerful pump (4 bar which is very expensive) as he thinks the issue is that the bathroom is further from the cylinder than the ensuite and so pressure is not enough to kick the pump on. I don’t understand this as before the bathroom was refitted all was fine and the pump worked fine (we have installed the new shower with its own pump this is working fine so don’t see that this is connected). I don’t want to pay out for a new more powerful pump if that is not actually the issue. We paid a lot of money for the work and I’m unhappy that this was not told at the time but clearly we need to resolve having no hot water when we