Replacing Electric Shower

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Richie Rich, Nov 14, 2017.

1. Richie Rich

Richie Rich New Member

Hi, back for some more excellent advice!

I've almost finished my bathroom after some really good advice on here, tiling is looking pretty awesome, even if I do say so myself.

I'm now re-tiling the shower enclosure (last job), I though just take the shower off the wall, tiles off, new tiles on, shower back, job done. On closer inspection, whoever installed the shower fitted it to the wall rather than over the tiles.

The way I see it, I can either re-tile around the shower and say screw you to whoever needs to replace the shower in the future. Or tile then fit fit the shower, where I will struggle there is lengthening the inlet pipe to the shower, it will need to be 8mm longer to allow for the thickness of the tiles. As an amateur I like good margins to allow for error, this seems a bit too precise for my liking.
    So, I'm guessing I should get a plumber in to extend the pipe while I have the tiles off and everything exposed to make it easier for them? I'm thinking a proper trades-person will know exactly what's required.

I'm sure that is the obvious solution, I'm just wondering if there is some little trick that I'm missing that means I can easily sort it myself?

Thanks in advance.

Rich

2. I feel your pain :). How annoying is that!

Is there no movement in the supply pipe? No back and forth 'wobble'? It wouldn't have to be a full 8mm, 'cos if you look at your olive, you should hopefully find it the best part of 10mm up from the pipe end, so - in theory - you could slide it down, say, 5mm without causing issues. And if you could pull the pipe out 3mm from the wall, jobbie jobbed...

Failing that the usual solution is to extend the pipe - how much access is there? It would usually be cut back enough and then a Yorkie union soldered on along with a short pipe extension. But this depends on decent access.