Brick slips meet ceiling coving

Discussion in 'Tilers' Talk' started by Robert Fall, Jan 2, 2018.

1. Robert Fall

Robert Fall Member

Would be grateful for any advice.

Going to get a woodburning stove fitted in our kitchen.

Then going to fit some brick slips behind it to look something like this;
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1v3vedH933Z2fCYot99lKrQosfms0E6Z8

Problem is the ceiling coving;
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1pgGN795TkPG7MYHqtV0PyNKU9ZUNAGel

Not sure what to do when I reach this. Seems the best thing would be to remove the coving on this wall completely. But will that mean the ceiling needs replastering? How easy would it be to patch this up and keep it looking OK. I have no experience of plastering, I'm guessing I'll need a professional in to do this bit?

Can anyone recommend a good guide to fitting brick slips? It's an exterior wall so I'm guessing it's more of less just like tiling?

Last edited: Jan 2, 2018
  2. Brick slips - never done them, but - yes - it'll be like tiling! I'm sure there's plenty vids out there on t'Tube etc.

As for the coving, yes the only decent way is to remove the existing - slice along each join between it and the wall and ceiling - and run away. It looks like a standard profile and almost certainly size too - so just buy lightweight foam type coving (the 'dense' stuff with a completely smooth finish). You shouldn't have much difficulty fitting this in place - just use solvent-free adhesive, and stick it over the slips (this will also save you having to take the slips exactly to the ceiling line - phew!)

Getting the new length to fit in with the two existing sides is the tricky bit. Either cut the sides to a 90o internal mitre as normal (tricky when it's in situ) or else make the replacement length 'fit in'; use scrap pieces of coving to work out the correct shape. (You will be surprised at what this will be...) You will need filler in these corner joins too - no question :)

3. WillyEckerslike