Help with first time kitchen

Discussion in 'Kitchen Fitters' Talk' started by Peers Kirby, Jan 25, 2018.

1. Peers Kirby

Peers Kirby New Member

Hi guys currently going through my first housing project , I'm 26 years old I've been working as a maintenance technician for the past 7 years so I'm quite handy around the house , I'm halfway through fully redoing the house out, I've now come upto the kitchen and after doing my research I've still got a few unanswered questions so hopefully you guys can Help,

1. Do I need to take measurements while exsisting cabinets are still in place? Or could I literally gut the kitchen now before deciding on what kitchen I want and take measurements/design with a bare room

2. Do I need a kitchen designer to ensure ive got the right measurements/lengths on new cabinets and work tops

3.if so what's the Labour cost of having a kitchen designer and cost for a fitter (Labour only)

4. Where's the place to buy kitchens? From what I'm reading mainline places like b and q are much pricier than other sources

As it stands this is my plan , please chip in if something doesn't sit right as this is my very first time

.Gut kitchen completely including walls and floors
    .replaster walls, install laminate
    .measure up kitchen
    .build kitchen

2. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

Can keep the present kitchen in use, while you work out a design, design a kitchen that works with the space available, & work out appliances position for ease of installation, the bosses input is essential, you'll move thing around before setting on a finish design,.

Plenty of online planners around, as to kitchen I've use this firm several times, can't fault them.
    Might save a few pennies if on Quidco/TCB.

http://www.diy-kitchens.com/

DIY Kitchens,look under their Advice Guide, & you will find a planner, also some good video guides.

Last edited: Jan 25, 2018
  3. Dr Bodgit

Dr Bodgit Super Member

Prior planning and preparation prevents **** poor performance.