Shared neutral and RCD woes

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by JohnDeere8420, Mar 13, 2018.

1. JohnDeere8420

JohnDeere8420 Member

thanks for your replies, in response to your questions above (bear with me I am no electrician)

I want 2 RCD as each circuit will be protected individually. This is important with the gates as there is no easy way in to the property if the rcd trips through say the lights and cuts supply to the gates
    It is not an easy job digging the flower bed up as a big hedge has to come out now. Not impossible but a last resort
    Supply type at intake position? I am not too sure what you mean?
    The drawing does show the SWA cable being terminated in the house and connected to a socket. This is next to the fuse box and it is actually 2 sockets, one for the gate(grey) and the other one for the two lighting circuits (Black and Blue)

I am now thinking, what I originally asked isn't easily possible? This is pretty much as I had imagined from just logically thinking (I am no electrician mind)

2. JohnDeere8420

JohnDeere8420 Member

I've been told a relay might be the answer here, but for the life of me I can't see how?,

3. Bazza-spark

Bazza-spark Screwfix Select

Hi John

You don't say what size the SWA is or what the loading of the lights are but if I have understood your post correctly it may be possible to do the following.

2 circuits, one for lights using 2 cores, and one for gate using 2 cores.

Common earth via SWA sheath.

The SWA does not need RCD protection. In the junction box for the lamp post fit an RCBO of an appropriate size. Lighting feed to input and column to output. Column now RCD protected.

At the gate, lighting circuit to RCBO and gate supply to separate RCBO appropriately sized. Both circuits compliant, separated and RCD protected.

Kind regards

4. Pollowick

Pollowick Screwfix Select