CSCS " worker certification"

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by Paul Fear, Mar 18, 2018.

?

Agree with this post

1. Yes

11 vote(s)
    84.6%
  2. No

2 vote(s)
    15.4%
  1. Paul Fear

Paul Fear Member

As a carpenter, I now need £6,000 worth of tools, NVQ2, cscs, asbestos aware, face fit mask, tower scafold permit, saftey harness certificate, nail gun certificate. The list goes on. Yes companies make a profit from their workers productivity, but they are now making a profit by shifting costs onto workers. You might be interested to know that the Arab spring was triggered by an occupational licence. Carry on, keep denying the poorest access to jobs and see where it gets you! And by the way I have been a carpenter for 37 years, I am a damn sight safer than someone with 2 years experience and an NVQ2.

Jimmycloutnail, Jord86 and Sparkielev like this.
  2. WillyEckerslike

WillyEckerslike Screwfix Select

The issue of cost (and profits and directors' remuneration) is one for the directors of the construction companies. To take on CSCS you are targeting the wrong victim. As for your skills and abilities, with all your kit and experience you will be doing the job quicker and better than the 2nd years lad/lass so earning more. But wouldn't you like to feel as safe with them as they do with you? If you abolish CSCS or any similar scheme......

3. AlvyChippy

AlvyChippy Active Member

We have slid of sense of general CSCS and NVQ question.

I agree completely, that IE somebody in training for NVQ or employer would need to provide (pay for) couple of days mandatory SAFETY training,
    else, as I run the job, I trust my tradesmen to be sensible them-self, having "cards"- mean absolute 0 to me in either quality of workmanship or the regard for safety.