Scaffold Board Table

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by Martyn_P, Apr 16, 2018.

1. Martyn_P

Martyn_P New Member

Hi all,

This is my first post on here. My wife and I are very keen on having a dining table made from scaffolding boards and hairpin legs; however we've decided that instead of buying one we'd like to build our own using four 6ft boards. I'm not a carpenter by trade but I believe that this is within my capability and I like the idea of creating something for our house and making it more personal

My question though is in regards to joining the boards together to create the top as I've seen quite a few different methods that people have used. In order to keep the table looking as minimalist and rustic as possible, I was considering using four 5mm heavy duty or 2.5mm light duty steel restraint straps spread out across the underside of the table. I'm more drawn to the 2.5mm strap at the moment as I think that using 5mm might be a bit of an overkill.

Has anyone else done anything of a similar nature? I just want to make sure that the table is structurally sound and properly supported whilst keeping the look as minimal as possible. Would steel strap be the most suitable method in this instance or are there alternatives that I should maybe consider.

Many thanks

Martyn

2. facilities

facilities Guest

Martin can you have a word with my dragon I've just spent £1500.00 on ours (I much prefer your idea) bet you can cut a few scaff poles down & make the chairs:)

3. goldenboy

goldenboy Super Member

I picked up a beautiful oiled oak table with painted legs for free off a customer not long back as he was making a scaffold board table.

His looked nice and new. But I was chuffed with the windfall!

4. Martyn_P

Martyn_P New Member