Can these insulation be used?

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by goldeneye78, May 1, 2018.

1. goldeneye78

goldeneye78 Member

Please confirm the insulation that you see on the image can be used in normal semi-detached house property, for the extension work/wall we are looking to build?

Is this recommended?

And if not, what are the risks/implications?

Thanks
    GE

Attached Files:

2. goldeneye78

goldeneye78 Member

any assistance?

3. Jimmycloutnail

Jimmycloutnail Screwfix Select

What type of construction will the extension be?What has your architect or local building control specified?

4. Sammi

Sammi Member

What is your concern?

I have had no experience of that specific product, but it seems to be a good quality cavity insulation material. I understand that it should be fitted 'snugly' inside the cavity, butt-jointed tightly possibly with taped joins, and installed around corners in a specific way - all to ensure the max U value over the whole wall.

Make sure your builder appreciates these installation points, but there should be no issues - and you should have a cosy extension.

Is your concern a fire hazard?

5. goldeneye78

goldeneye78 Member

Hi Jimmy/Sammi

we have a builder X who had bought this at cut-price from another building place (i think these were leftovers). we never asked too much details of it. recently another builder Y came to property to quote our extension and he had some reservations

Architect specifies this:
    To achieve minimum U Value of 0.28W/m²K
    20mm two coat sand/cement render to comply to BS EN 13914-1:2005 with waterproof additive on
    100mm block, K value of 1.13 or lower, e.g. Dense block. Full Fill cavity with 100mm Dritherm 37
    insulation batts in accordance with manufacturer's spec. Inner leaf constructed using 100mm block,
    K value of 1.13 or lower, e.g. Dense block, with internal lining of 40mm Knauf Thermal Laminate
    insulated plasterboard. Walls to be built with 1:1:6 cement mortar.