8.5kw shower cable

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by lvlouse, May 13, 2018.

1. peter palmer

peter palmer Screwfix Select

If 6mm isn't suitable to be protected by a 40A MCB then whats the point of it? 4mm is happy sat on a 32A MCB so why use 6mm? unless someone can find an MCB in between 32A and 40A. For me I would protect a 6mm cooker or shower with a 40A breaker, especially as most mains units come with at least one one, for one thing it saves having a bucket full of unused 40A MCBs in the van.

2. lvlouse

lvlouse New Member

Hello All,

I feel like I have created an argument between various users which I have noticed happens time and time again in all of the posts I have read about showers. Although personally I believe 6mm would probably have been fine for the last 2m for an 8.5kw shower, I am not an electrician so i can't speak with any authority.

Since there is no consensus that 6mm will do the job I have gone out and bought 5m of 10mm and swapped it out last night. Now I can rest easy knowing that the house wont burn down while i'm in the shower lol, bit dramatic but that sort of thing plays on my mind.

thanks all for your input, tis very much apreciated, i can now let the fitters in to do my bathroom :)

Heat likes this.
  3. seneca

seneca Screwfix Select

And that's probably where your real problems will start! :(

4. lvlouse

lvlouse New Member

hehe, been there done that with the bedrooms to be honest. fortunately, the guys fitting the bathroom come highly recommended and have done very good jobs on my girlfriends parents house.

seneca likes this.
  5. seneca

seneca Screwfix Select

Hope it all goes well for you mate.

6. Heat

Heat Screwfix Select

If 6mm can’t carry the power of 8.5 kw for 2 metres, then I think many houses will be wrong. :p

7. Bazza-spark

Bazza-spark Screwfix Select

I know it is a fixed load, butI still would not have a 40A breaker on 6mm. End of.

8. Risteard

Risteard Screwfix Select