Humidistat controlled extractor in utility room

Discussion in 'Engineers' Talk' started by SoulConspiracy, Jun 22, 2018.

1. Hi

I was going to post this in the electricians forum, but I wanted an intelligent answer so posting here.

Is it a waste of time putting a humidistat controlled fan in my utility room? My thinking is that I need the extractor to be on when the humidity is high because we're drying clothes in there. Needing the fan on isn't related to whether someone is in the room or not (like a bathroom) so linking it to the light isn't suitable.

My main concern is that these humidistats aren't designed for this, they'll only work if the room gets totally bathroom steamy. They would need to be able to detect subtle changes in relative humidity for my plan to work.

Anyone have any thoughts on this?

2. Bob Rathbone

Bob Rathbone Screwfix Select

Hi, I am an Electrician. OOPS!.
    But to answer your question, automatic fans with over run timers are only required in toilets and bathrooms. The fans you fit elsewhere are your choice. The humidistat would probably be better mounted away from the fan, and you will need a source of fresh dry air to replace that thrown out by the fan, Why not buy a dehumidifier and put it in the room, it will work all year round and give dryer air than the fan could provide. There you go, one intellegent answer from an Electrician.

3. Thanks for your suggestion. I had considered the dehumidifier, I could link it up to the waste water. But I wouldn't be complying with building regs- everything I've read says an extract fan is required in a utility room.

(Every time I see someone's already asked the question I want to known the answer to electricians say "get a qualified electrician to come and take a look" without actually answering the question then the thread goes off onto a tangent about what part P does and doesn't say. Last time qualified electricians came to my house they screwed up the job and called me names.)