Rawl plugs - to leave or remove?

Discussion in 'Painters' Talk' started by CuriousGem, Jul 3, 2018.

1. CuriousGem

CuriousGem Member

I'm posting this in the painters' forum as I'm trying to prep the walls for painting.
    The previous owners of my house had hideous mirrors everywhere which I've removed but I now have rawl plug holes everywhere. What would you do with them? I've heard that you should NOT remove them from plasterboard but push them in and then fill, is that right? How about in concrete walls? Remove and fill? Are there any particular fillers that I should look at?
    I am a novice amateur but determined to learn! Thanks

2. rogerk101

rogerk101 Screwfix Select

I'm tight ... I remove them for reuse, and then just fill with a decent sandable filler.

DIY womble likes this.
  3. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

Another one who pulls them, & occasionally reuse them.:oops:

DIY womble likes this.
  4. Heat

Heat Screwfix Select

When rawl plugs are in solid walls, unless they appear to just pull out easy without damaging plaster, then I prefer to use a drill with masonry bit to drill them out. Then fill holes

5. Astramax

Astramax Super Member

Wind a screw in and pull out with a claw hammer.

malkie129, Jord86 and DIY womble like this.
  6. John Southcombe

John Southcombe New Member

Anyone that removes rawl plugs and reuses shouldn't be allowed to use tools. Trying pushing in further or cut edges off with a stanley blade and fill over. Pulling them out causes damage to the plaster, more filling :(

DIYDave. likes this.
  7. Astramax

Astramax Super Member

A few on here are working to a very tight budget! Also builders smash things apart where as decorators take thing apart, less filling.:);)

Heat likes this.
  8. Wayners

Wayners Screwfix Select