Help required fir an elderly neighbour

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Cymro18, Jul 12, 2018.

1. Cymro18

Cymro18 New Member

Hi All

I am trying to help our elderly n ighbour who has a shower leak and I am a tree surgeon by trade so not much idea with plumbing.

Basically the leak is coming because the shower tray was not sealed and had some plastic trim stuff to hold the water out which the adhesion finally gave up.

The questions I have are is the gap from tile to tray to big to use sealant on as shown in the picture and is so what should I do. And once sealed should I get some decent double sided tape and stick the trim back on or even use sealant to stick it back I was thinking belt and braces job to ensure no more leak and the job lasts as I am not really experienced with a sealant gun so am a bit worried about the finish.

Thanks for your help guys if I can help with any tree surgery questions ask away lol and our elderly neighbour will be very grateful also as he has not had a shower for five days until I offered him to use ours the old bugger was worried he could not afford the repair !!!
    Thanks again

Attached Files:

2. CGN

CGN Screwfix Select

https://www.byretech.com/acatalog/ShowerSeal-Ultra-10---3-Sides.html

3. goldenboy

goldenboy Super Member

Go to a window plastics counter and buy a 5.1m long length of upvc quadrant (maybe a fiver) Lots of different sizes available.

Clean out the old silicone with a stanley blade.

Get some anti mould silicone in white Squirt loads into the void and then run a bead on tiles and on tray.

Push quadrant in and clean off excess with a baby wipe.

Its about all you can do when tiles are well shy of a tray.

Heat, PhilSo and Neil1987 like this.
  4. Neil1987

Neil1987 Member

Couldnt have said it any better only issue I would think about was the gap always that size or is tray sinking

5. Heat

Heat Screwfix Select