Applying the 3 meter rule properly

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by PeterMouse, Sep 7, 2018.

1. PeterMouse

PeterMouse New Member

Hi. I am an recently retired industrial electrician, I am worried about aninstallation in my own home I didabout 30 years ago. I supplied myburglar alarm control box. By Spuring off my ring main (unfused) about 4feet to the alarm box. I may also have down sized the cable to 1.5mm T&E. I did not fit a fused Spur on the supply as the Alarm box is fused internally on the supply as it enters the box. At the time I thought this was O.K. as I understood the 3 meter rule to allowDown sizing and omiting of a fused spur at the point of connection to the ring main. As long as the run was less than 3 meters and the load to be suitably limited by protection at the end or along the supply cable. Since retiring I have had time to ponderthese things. Any clarification would be a big help.

2. unphased

unphased Screwfix Select

Peter you are worrying far too much. Strictly you should have fitted an fcu at the point you spurred off because you downsized the cable. If you had kept it at 2.5mm2 then you would be fine. In reality it is going to be safe because an alarm panel draws very little current. Its not dangerous it just doesn't strictly comply with the Regs.

3. Coloumb

Coloumb Screwfix Select

The three meter rule only applies in situations where bus bar chambers are used.

4. unphased

unphased Screwfix Select

Or three metre rule. :)

Coloumb likes this.
  5. PeterMouse

PeterMouse New Member

Thank you.

6. chippie244

chippie244 Super Member

You've had no problem in 30 years so it's probably OK.

7. PeterMouse

PeterMouse New Member

Thanks

8. Magicspark

Magicspark Active Member

Where does it say bus bar chamber in reg 434.2.1?

9. Coloumb

Coloumb Screwfix Select

Lee, you so want to be part of this forum don't you?

10. chippie244

chippie244 Super Member

Is Magic from Essex by any chance?

Coloumb likes this.
  11. mhar