Crown Fastflow Gloss or Satin for HS&L

Discussion in 'Painters' Talk' started by MrM, Sep 14, 2018.

1. MrM

MrM Member

Hi all,

Planning on the next job or painting the all my skirting, door frames, wooden bannister and landing bannister in my house.

It's a fair bit of panting, and reading previous threads, Crown Trade Fast Flow Quick Dry Gloss is recommended to avoid yellowing too soon.

I've got zero knowledge on Satin based, and the best time to use either.

Is it simply a matter of shine vs none shine with Gloss vs Satin, or are there other characteristics I should be aware of?

TIA

2. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

MrM likes this.
  3. DIYDave.

DIYDave. Screwfix Select

Great choice of paint, I’m always banging on about it on here.

Personally prefer it to the Johnstones Aqua range, not saying it’s better (but it is) :)

Gloss or Satin is down to you on cosmetic looks, but, honestly don’t know if there’s a difference in their longevity - especially on areas that are subject to wear and tear - skirts, bannisters, etc

What surface are you painting over ?

New timber, previously painted surface, painted with oil or water based paint ?

Prep always required ;)
    Same system Undercoat recomended to be used

Agree, I’ve used Paint Shed thanks to Kiab, great prices and service. The Crown was recently on special offer ..... better be quick

£75 spend for free postage but even paying for postage, I still saved money :D

KIAB likes this.
  4. Astramax

Astramax Super Member

Don't favour Satin myself but decorated my HS&l with FastFlow Gloss 18 months ago, no complaints lovely white and super shiny, one undercoat and two gloss coats to finish.

MrM likes this.
  5. MrM

MrM Member

Thanks diydave, i read your previous posts which is where i took advice from - thanks.

It painted over previously water glossed paint by the looks of it.

6. DIYDave.

DIYDave. Screwfix Select

Good choice of paint indeed :D