Dulux diamond eggshell streaky

Discussion in 'Painters' Talk' started by white rabbit, Oct 7, 2018.

1. white rabbit

white rabbit Member

Hi all.
    Bought some dulux trade diamond eggshell to paint the bathroom (painting over existing colour).
    For cutting in and tight spots I was using a brush and roller everywhere else.
    Looking at the first coat after drying there are a lots of heavy brush marks.
    Just wondering best way to deal with them before I go for a second coat?
    Will I need to wait for this coat to fully dry out before trying to sand?
    Just wondering what best options are
    Thanks

2. Astramax

Astramax Super Member

Not unusual as more than likely be ok after the second coat.

Last edited: Oct 7, 2018
  3. Muzungu

Muzungu Screwfix Select

I am by no means a pro but got the same when doing doors and woodwork in the kitchen with diamond eggshell. I thinned it down by about 10% and found I got on with it much better. Astra is the pro.

4. DIYDave.

DIYDave. Screwfix Select

When I cut in with a brush, I immediately roll over the area with a 4” roller, as tight as can be, just a little paint on roller so you end up with same texture as main wall areas

As you’ve found, using a brush with emuslion gives a different texture (brush marks) to using a roller

Looks terrible when you have say 2” brush marks from cutting in around door frames, ceiling junction, light switches, etc

If your brush marks are heavy, possibly loaded too much paint on brush / not spread paint out enough / paint is too thick /

These marks will likely show up through a rollered finish, unless you use a very heavy roller and again, too much paint

Would suggest sanding down brush marks with P120 paper. Then try cutting in with the brush and 4” roller method

Give it a try and report back - good luck :)

5. white rabbit

white rabbit Member

Thanks folks!
    Like the idea of the brush and 4" roller method!