Bungalow Hip to Gable Loft Conversion Project

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by wartonwoodworks, Mar 13, 2018.

1. Hello Everyone,

I am a builder in Essex, UK. I also operate a DIY home renovation blog called Warton Woodworks. My goal is to provide useful information to the trade, and DIY enthusiasts.

Recently I uploaded one of my loft conversion projects. It contains many images of a hip to gable loft conversion process, from design to completion.

Click here to view this bungalow hip to gable loft conversion project.

[​IMG]

Hopefully you will find this post helpful and interesting. It contains the following:
    • Drawings of the original bungalow
    • Drawings of the bungalow hip to gable loft conversion
    • Step-by-step images of all work carried out
    More images will be uploaded in the future.

Kind regards,

Jon

2. stevie22

stevie22 Screwfix Select

Good stuff but I would always want to see the foundation check done as the first step in case something nasty turns up.

3. Hi Guys,

I thought you may also be interested to watch a You Tube video of this hip to gable loft conversion. It shows the steel and timber construction of the roof.

Youtube video of hip to gable loft conversion Essex

Stevie22: Yes, I agree with you. In fact the foundations were indeed checked just after erecting the scaffolding. I have rearranged the images on my website to show the true sequence of events (as accurate as possible).

Kind Regards,

Jon

4. koolpc

koolpc Super Member

How much is it all costing?

wartonwoodworks and The Teach like this.
  5. Hello Koolpc.

Sorry, but I cannot share how much this project costs. This is because I would need to get the customers permission to share the cost first.