Caravan testing

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Bradley6969, Dec 6, 2018.

1. Bradley6969

Bradley6969 Member

Right at this job with another electrician, we are doing an EICR on a fairly big caravan site, we’ve changed an old distribution unit feeding some caravans for a new one and some additional breakers, now I’m saying to him we need to do an EIC but he’s saying he’ll just put it on the EICR he’s doing with schedule of circuit details and results?

2. peter palmer

peter palmer Screwfix Select

Should have an install cert for the board as well as the EICR you have been asked to produce. But at the end of the day I suspect the owners just want a bit of papaer that says the installation is safe so there is someone else to blame if something goes wrong, they won't care what bit of paper establishes that.

3. Bradley6969

Bradley6969 Member

Thanks sorry I’m only an apprentice so just want to learn a bit but my trainer seems to be a bit of a cowboy I just want to learn the proper way

4. Bradley6969

Bradley6969 Member

Surely if he did do an EICR and not have an EIC for the board change who is to know he done it? As I’ve seen it before where people have used NICEIC stickers so you wouldn’t of known who has done the instal

5. Peterdevon

Peterdevon Screwfix Select

Main thing to remember in a caravan site is that hook ups / vans have to be TT unless it can proved to be TNS

6. Bradley6969

Bradley6969 Member

Yes TNCS - PME not permitted
    Just the paper work that’s got me as he said that he doesn’t have to do EIC as it’s more paper work

7. Peterdevon

Peterdevon Screwfix Select

He should de a EIC
    I have seen this a lot lately on board changes on domestics no quite done to regs so they give the customer a EICR and note the faults as if it was someone else’s work.

8. sparko69

sparko69 Screwfix Select